

Overview and Scrutiny Committee Briefing Paper

Subject: Working Groups update

If in attendance at the meeting on 30 January, the chair from each group will be invited to give verbal updates.

Climate Action

Councillor Dr Isabel Creed - Chair Councillor John Broad Councillor Patrick Clarke Councillor Ian Middleton Councillor Rebecca Biegel Councillor John Donaldson Councillor Simon Holland Councillor Sean Woodcock Councillor Andrew McHugh – as Portfolio Holder, Cleaner and Greener Communities

The Climate Action group met on 17 January, to finalise the update to the Terms of Reference as detailed at agenda item 11.

The other items scheduled for discussion at the meeting have had to be rescheduled, as Jo Miskin was unwell and unable to attend. The next meeting of the group will be arranged when Jo returns to work.

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) – joint group with Personnel Committee

Councillor Gemma Coton – Chair, and Personnel nominated member Councillor Patrick Clarke Councillor Lynne Parsons Councillor Rob Pattenden Councillor Chris Pruden – Personnel nominated member Councillor Sandy Dallimore – as Portfolio Holder, Corporate Services

The EDI group have met twice since the last update to Overview and Scrutiny; on 12 December, to discuss the Inclusive Workforce action plan, and on 16 January to consider the Inclusive Communities action plan.

Councillor Okeke stood down from the group as a Personnel nominated member in December 2023. As the next scheduled meeting of the Personnel Committee is 7 February, and all actions plans would have been reviewed by early February, the working group decided to continue as a group of five for the remainder of the municipal year rather than request Personnel Committee to nominate a replacement working group member.

The group are due to meet on 23 January to continue discussions on the Inclusive Services action plan, before a final meeting on 13 February.



The updated action plans for 2024/25 remain on course to be submitted for consideration and comment to Personnel Committee in February 2024 (Inclusive Workforce), Overview & Scrutiny (Inclusive Services and Inclusive Communities) in March 2024, and all actions plans for agreement to Executive in April 2024.

Food Insecurity

Councillor Rebecca Biegel – Chair Councillor Patrick Clarke Councillor Isabel Creed Councillor Dr Chukwudi Okeke Councillor Bryn Williams Councillor Dorothy Walker Councillor Phil Chapman – as Portfolio Holder, Healthy and Safe Communities

The Food Insecurity group met on 9 January, and received detailed updates on the food voucher scheme, food grants, household support equipment grants, school support and holiday activity fund, as well as an update on the Winter Warmers programme, some of which will be covered under the Cost of Living update at agenda item 10.

The group also discussed the current draft of the Cherwell Food Action Plan, which is listed on the Executive Forward Plan for consideration in March 2024.

The group will meet again on 20 February, when they will receive a data dashboard update on the various programmes.

Completed by: Emma Faulkner, Principal Officer – Scrutiny & Democratic Lead Date: 22 January 2024

Presented to Overview and Scrutiny Committee: 30 January 2024